December 5, 2012

by JKL

The Maestro call was called to order by President Eric Byler at about 5pm PST. Other Directors’ attendance is noted below. We all took 30 seconds to check in.

P – Eric Byler, President
P – Egberto Willies, Vice President
A – Eric Whinery, Treasurer
P – Jeanene Louden, Secretary
P – Michael Charney
A – Jose Gutierrez
P – Frank Kirkwood
P – Cameron Kruger
P – Christopher Ritter

to new Director Michael Charney. This is his first official meeting.

MINUTES for the November 19, 2012 meeting can be found at our minutes blog:

FINANCIAL REPORT: As of the last day of November

  • Bank Balance 5,574
  • Paypal Balance   955
  • Nov Expenses 4,393 (corrected)
  • Nov Income 3,698
  • Ending Balance 5,834

The BDWG submitted its request that we approve the Board Election Vetting Committee members for the 2012 election:  

  • Four from the BDWG: Lynda Park, Jeanene Louden, Barb Bull, and Linda Perrealt; and
  • Two outside of BD WG or Board: Vince Lamb and Steve Mantz.

Approval was moved by Michael, seconded by Egberto, and passed: 7 yes, 0 no, 0 abstain, 2 not present (Jose and EricW)

Our transition to the new website/platform ( is Monday, with our dress rehearsal Friday. We all agreed to be checking our links and cross checking access to BSD, making the needed changes to switch to NB. We discussed volunteer forms, fundraising/membership links, and invitations to bloggers to post on the new site. Michael offered to create a new anchor post for all curators. Other possible breakdowns were discussed and assignments made. We hope to be fully functional (shakedown completed) by the first of January.

We lost our newsletter when we lost our paid staff. We agreed that it is missed and that we should relaunch the newsletter should happen after the successful transition to NationBuilder. We appointed Michael and Egberto co-editors (by consensus). Chris and Cameron were similarly recruited to create the newsletter template in NationBuilder. Jessica will recruit a team of volunteers to serve as newsletter staff.

The third anniversary of the Citizens United Decision is January 21, 2013, We all agreed that we need to play a role in marking the date. The question is, should we collaborate or initiate?  We are creating a research team of volunteers headed by Dan Aaronson to reach out to and reach out to other organizations. Mike Potters (video contest) is on the top of the list of recruits.

We discussed a suggestion that money be designated to experiment with Facebook Promoted Posts. Currently, posts reach only people who have been interacting with our page lately.  By using promoted posts, we can get to people who haven’t looked at our page in a while, and get them to like or share, and then, theoretically, our posts will reach them again. We tabled the idea until fundraising improves.

Coffee Party Co-founder Annabel Park has requested permission to send an email blast to our database to announce launch of an Indie Go Go crowdfunding campaign to raise money for the  Story of America project.  Co-founder Eric Byler helping with this project, abstaining from vote.

Story of America plans a road trip that will bring Annabel and Eric B to different parts of the country. If other CP leaders become part of Story of America either as writers, filmmakers, or subjects of stories, this could be a good way to become less virtual and more face-to-face. Annabel has posted Story of America videos to FB page.  Eric has retweeted on Twitter.  Email blast is different because we have only so many blasts we can do without annoying people, causing them to unsubscribe.

We agreed to seek a further conversation with Annabel about our relationship (Coffee Party and our Founder) and what we can offer based upon the relationship we agree upon. Jeanene will lead the team to talk to Annabel. Timeframe: ASAP

The next meeting will be held December 19, 2012 at 5pm Pacific (8pm Eastern). We all took 30 seconds to check out, and all mics were opened so we could say Aloha to one another.

Respectfully Submitted:
Jeanene Louden
Secretary of the Board of Directors